SLC Public Transit


      St. Lawrence County Public Transit

May 25, 2021

WASHINGTON – St. Lawrence County’s First Mile Last Mile Program has been recognized with an Achievement Award from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that strengthen services for residents.

NACo recognized St. Lawrence County with a 2021 Achievement Award for its program titled “First Mile Last Mile” in the category of Transportation. St. Lawrence County’s First Mile Last Mile program helps passengers access public bus routes in portions of the county that are not served by St. Lawrence County Public Transit. St. Lawrence County’s Public Transit system currently operates 16 bus routes that extend between the county’s five population centers (route maps and schedules are available online at:

To complement its bus operations, St. Lawrence County offers First Mile Last Mile to transports riders who are ¾ of a mile or more from a designated bus stop. This corps of volunteer drivers is coordinated by Volunteer Transportation Center, Inc., a third-party organization that serves as the County’s program dispatcher and schedules these on-demand rides in 48 hours in advance of a trip. In 2019 (prior to the onset of COVID19), 8.2% of St. Lawrence County Public Transit’s riders utilized First Mile Last Mile to access its public transit system. Sixty-six percent, or two-thirds of First Mile Last Mile passengers connected to the bus system for employment purposes, and another 16% utilized public transit to access institutions of higher learning.

St. Lawrence County Administrator Ruth Doyle said, “First Mile Last Mile is an innovative, cost effective program that connects passengers to a bus system that services the largest county in New York State. It creatively expands access to public transit for residents who do not live near a designated bus stop.”

NACo President Gary Moore said, “Over the past year, county officials and frontline employees have demonstrated bold, inspirational leadership. This year’s Achievement Award winning programs illustrate the innovative ways counties build healthy, safe and vibrant communities across America.”

Nationally, awards are given in 18 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice and public safety, county administration, information technology, health, civic engagement and many more.

Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Awards program is designed to recognize county government innovations. Each nominee is judged on its own merits and not against other applications received.


NACo CONTACT: Paul Guequierre,

St. Lawrence County Contact: Matilda Larson,

Volunteer Transportation Center Contact: Sam Purington,

The Arc Jefferson St. Lawrence Contact: Michelle Quinell,